Enemies of the soul: The flesh, world, devil Pt 1

Scripture: 1 Peter 2: 11; Romans 7: 18-25

Bishop is beginning a series on the Enemy of the Soul, starting with the flesh. The flesh will keep you out of heaven and is your enemy.

The flesh is your human, carnal and endemic nature and is your enemy. It’s a permanent scar that you will never great rid of. God has a way to bring the flesh under control. If you have the Spirit of God in you then you have what you need to overcome the flesh. Satan tries to get us to think we can’t overcome. He has never been excited about you receiving the Holy Ghost. Ever since you received the Holy Ghost you’ve been attacked by Satan and he does everything he can to turn you against God.

God has identified your enemy, the flesh, in His word and has given us the necessary weapon to conquer it. The flesh tries everyday to get you to turn your back on God. He is waiting to destroy and attack you, especially in your mind. The flesh is constantly fighting us.Dearly beloved, I beseech you as strangers and pilgrims, abstain from fleshly lusts, which war against the soul.

Jesus did not come to save your flesh; He came to save your soul. David’s plea was to let his soul live that it may praise God. So how do we defeat the flesh? We have to modify the deeds of the flesh, and bring it under the subjection of the Spirit of God. Otherwise, the flesh will constantly plague you, try to turn you against God and make you question the indwelling of the Holy Ghost.

When you are going through the trials of life you have to understand who you are. In your flesh dwells no good thing and that’s why we have to be on alert at all times. You may have a will to do right but that doesn’t stop the flesh. The best thing is to keep the will to do right. Don’t ever lose your will to be saved, which comes from the Spirit of God – even if you have to fight.

For the good that I would I do not: but the evil which I would not, that I do. Now if I do that I would not, it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me. Sin dwells in you and for that reason you have to keep it under subjection at all times, because the will of the flesh is always present. We have a war going on in our members and Satan wants you to throw up your hands and yield to your flesh.

I find then a law, that, when I would do good, evil is present with me. For I delight in the law of God after the inward man. God has set it up that you can delight in Him and His law, which override the law of the flesh. You are walking around with sinful flesh, but God has given you His spirit so you can overcome.

But I see another law in my members, warring against the law of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to the law of sin which is in my members. O wretched man that I am! who shall deliver me from the body of this death? I thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord. So then with the mind I myself serve the law of God; but with the flesh the law of sin. The reason why someone turns their back on God is because of the pressure. You can’t stop walking with God unless you lose your will to do so. That’s where the fruit of the Spirit comes in, so you can override everything that the flesh is attempting to do.

These are the works of the flesh: Adultery (unlawful intercourse with one who is not your spouse), fornication, uncleanness, lasciviousness, idolatry, witchcraft, hatred, variance, emulations, wrath, strife, seditions and heresies. Beware of the wiles of the devil and the works of the flesh, which include emotional affairs and phone sex. You can’t yield to these works because you have to maintain moral standards. You don’t have a right to exercise every thought that comes to your mind. And you don’t fall overnight. It’s a process that starts a while back. You were given warnings, but you didn’t listen.

3 comments

  1. Pingback: penn state store

Leave a Reply

